Cool Beans & Frozen Lentils

beans

One of the many things I love about moving to new places, is the chance to learn a new lingua franca. The colloquial, if you prefer. There are so many nuances to different places, and exploring them is a whole new adventure.

From the blank look on your face when you hear a new phrase to the wonderful highs of explaining phrases you’ve picked up elsewhere to others.

I consider myself extremely lucky to have lived in a few different places and to have been exposed to different cultures and ways of thinking. From the quiet, respectful glances of the Arabs to the chalta hai – attitude of the Indians to the culture of queuing up in London (this one wasn’t as easy!). Once you learn to keep an eye out and observe the world around you, you begin to notice these little snippets that can tell you so much about people and places, how they are intricately intertwined, and neither can exist without the other.

Getting back to my title, Cool Beans was a new one for me. And new = looking it up on google. It still doesn’t make sense, but at least I don’t look like a total tool when people say it. I did have a conversation with a friend about how odd it sounded and his opinion was that frozen lentils would sound weirder.  There also happens to be vegan restaurant by that name somewhere!!

cool beans

How’s tricks? Would be another one. The first time around, I seriously thought someone assumed the fact that I had a dog named Tricks! Had I not been this lazy, I probably would have looked up the history on these, but to be honest, they are hilarious enough to overlook. You don’t always need to know why.

I still haven’t figured out where I’d like this blog to go, but it does seem like a great place to get some thoughts down and more organised. When I first started blogging years ago, whilst in college, the blog was primarily a place for me to publish my short stories and opinion pieces on current events. This one could be similar or take a new direction altogether. I probably need some more time to decide, but then again, I could just leave this as an everything blog. We spend most of our life in daylight masquerading as someone else, maybe this could be my way of making sense of it. Let’s see where this goes!

P.S: If i do get a dog, the name would be a coin toss between Jeeves and Tricks!

Author: inconspicuousstranger

Third culture kid currently living in London. Life is rather interesting when you've live with multiple cultures! Being opinionated gives you character! The blog is my outlet for random thoughts and adventures, because lets face it, making real life friends in this world ain't easy! I’m the person sitting next to you on the bus, the one you pass by on the street, the one you know, and yet don’t know. The calm, ordinary, practical person who makes logical decisions, and chooses a logical job that pays the logical sum you need to survive. But this blog is about the illogical life that everyone wants, the quirky thoughts and mindless ideas. Wonkaland, if that makes sense, but then it doesn’t need to. Here I get to be the eccentric who’s no longer shackled by logic. Because imagination has no limits.

Leave a Reply

